Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: packaged hived  (Read 3736 times)

Offline nosirrahkcaz

• New Bee
packaged hived
« on: May 10, 2014, 02:22:26 pm »
I just got my new package hived, but had a quick question. This is my first time and everything I read said the bees would be very doclie at this point. I sprayed them with syrup and followed all the tutorials but I still got stung 3 times and would have been quite a few times more if I didn't jog away and come back a couple minutes later to finish. What did I do wrong or is this the real normal? Thanks for the help.

Offline AliciaH

• Field Bee
Re: packaged hived
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2014, 02:39:17 pm »
Packages tend to be more docile, but counting on them to be completely docile is a bit of a stretch.  Sounds like you did what you were taught.  Just remember, bees have good days, bad days, and iffy days for a lot of various reasons.  If they were having an iffy day, then three stings isn't bad. 

If you want to make sure you don't get stung, there's always the suit/gloves option....

How are they doing now?  Did they settle in okay?

Offline nosirrahkcaz

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2014, 03:02:49 pm »
Its been a few hours now and they have cleaned the grass out of the entrance. Quite a few are foraging on the near by bushes and trees and you can see them bringing pollen into the hive. I walked ove to pick up the crate and they seemed to have settled down, I placed some dry sugar into the bottom of the hive on some newspaper ( completed before hiving). I had planned on checking on it in a few days to refill, but since they are pulling in pollen already I will probably wait 6\7 days to do my first inspection and remove the newspaper.

Offline fruitveggirl

• New Bee
    • Happy Hour at the Top Bar -- a chronicle of my beekeeping mistakes and misadventures
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2014, 07:15:45 pm »