Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: 2 swarms very close together captured questions  (Read 3676 times)

Offline dalewills

• New Bee
2 swarms very close together captured questions
« on: September 25, 2016, 08:29:17 pm »
Hi all,

I'm quite new to beekeeping having had bees for 12 months now. Yesterday I noticed that I had a swarm leave and locate themselves under my kids trampoline. Adjacent to this swarm only 3 mts away located on a rock was a second swarm. They were roughly the same size.
I captured the swarm hanging under the trampoline as it was straight forward. Then I decided to capture the adjacent swarm and add it to the swarm from the trampoline.
Have I stuffed up here by adding them together? and should I have kept them separate? My initial thoughts were that it was the same swarm given they were so close, but just in two clusters so I thought adding them together wouldn't be a drama but then later I thought that what if they were actually 2 separate swarms with their own queens.
I have captured them in an ideal box with 4 new frames with foundation pushed over to each side. I have this box lined on the bottom with 2 layers of newspaper. I plan to put this box onto the top of the weaker of my two hives (in my backyard). I'm assuming that this means the 2 queens would then fight it out.
Perhaps I should have kept these 2 swarms separate and added them back to each of my 2 hives.

Any advise or information about this scenario would be greatly appreciated.

Dale

Offline Andersonhoney

• House Bee
Re: 2 swarms very close together captured questions
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2016, 08:39:36 pm »
I think yes it was from the one swarm. Well done. But joining it back from where it came (if I read right). Can the bees get in and out? If you rejoin now it will just swarm again, maybe even twice and you'll end up queenless. Keep them divided and rejoin after once the new queen is up and going.

Offline dalewills

• New Bee