BEEKEEPING LEARNING CENTER > HONEYBEE REMOVAL

Liability

(1/3) > >>

KONASDAD:
As with everything I do w/ beekeeping, it is all a new experience for me. Nonetheless, I signed up for swarm removal. I have never done this. My question is, I live in area where homes are very expensive. I am reluctant to do cutouts, as i have limited carpentry skills. Do any of you have the homeowner  sign a release for home damage? If so, a sample copy would be appreciated. Do you repair the whole made? Hopefully, my first will be a hanging swarm!( I know, life never works like that, but I can hope, cant I?)

Robo:
Just emailed you the agreement I use.   I'm not a lawyer, so I have no idea how it would hold up in court, but at least it makes me feel good :-D

I explicitly state that the homeowner (or representative (ie. contractor)) is responsible for opening up the wall and all repairs.   Now in reality,  I offer up to open the wall as long as the homeowner is present and I explain each step and get agreement as we go.  Be very clear and explain you can not precisely know where the bees are located until you start ripping it open.

I have never had any problems as most people are more than accomidating as they just want to get rid of the bees.  I always bring an extra veil, as I have had homeowners who wanted to jump right in and help.   You can get a good feel for the person just by talking to them up front and explaining the process.  If after the talk, you have any concerns, walk away. 

Understudy: