Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Drones self feeding.  (Read 1361 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Drones self feeding.
« on: April 24, 2020, 01:01:32 pm »
FYI, a little thing.

I have read many times that drones cannot or will not feed themselves.  That the drones depend on nurse bees to feed them.

To the contrary, I watched a drone feeding out of a nectar cell during my last inspection.  Maybe a unique event and not a typical one???, can?t say for sure.  I can say I have seen drones feed themselves.  Also, from my experience, caged drones don?t last very long, hours, not days without nurse bees.

I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline The15thMember

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Traveler of the Multiverse, Seeker of Knowledge
Re: Drones self feeding.
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2020, 01:23:12 pm »
I have seen that a time or two as well, a drone with his head in a honey cell, seemingly eating.  Maybe they are just investigating the food and not actually eating it.
I come from under the hill, and under the hills and over the hills my paths led.  And through the air, I am she that walks unseen.

Offline CoolBees

• Queen Bee
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2020, 02:14:49 pm »
Don't get me started on this topic! I'd argue with anyone who claimed Drones can't feed themselves. ...