Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Honey price  (Read 1967 times)

Offline EastCentralMNbees

• New Bee
Honey price
« on: September 01, 2018, 03:16:28 pm »
I was just wondering what people are charging for honey? I know the price will vary depending on the region. I'm just curious.  Thank for your time

Van, Arkansas, USA

Re: Honey price
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2018, 05:57:43 pm »
Hi MnBee, I can tell you what I pay for honey: $1.00 to $2.00 an ounce for the fancy type honeys, Tupelo, Acacia, even sourwood Honey that is light colored.  I have paid 0.34 an ounce for local honey.  I tried manukau honey one time, a high certificate and paid like $5.00 an ounce for awful Honey that tasted like common honey with a menthol cough crop.  Pure uck, I was just courious about this medical Honey.

I can?t sell my honey due to my insurance.  I am a hobbyist beekeeper and covered by home owners insurance in case someone gets stung and seeks litigation.  As long as I don?t sell anything, honey, queens or whatever, I am covered, I am a hobbyist.  If I sell one jar of honey, or anything bee related then I am a business, not a hobbyist and my insurance does not cover me as a business.

I have standard home owners insurance with a 2.2 million umbrella. 

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2018, 08:36:16 pm »
I sell bears for $7, pints for $11 and quarts for $20.
Jim
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline Dallasbeek

• Super Bee
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2018, 09:46:47 pm »