Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Giant Pumpkin Surgery  (Read 9019 times)

Offline BlueBee

• Galactic Bee
Giant Pumpkin Surgery
« on: August 05, 2011, 12:30:57 pm »
Does anybody know how to fix this?  I was disappointed when I discovered that my biggest Atlantic Giant pumpkin had split its stem in half.  As it grew bigger it may have pushed the main vine away and ripped it in two :( :( :(

While on the subject of giant pumpkins, does anybody have growing tips to share?  This was my 3rd year with the Atlantic Giants and I’m still learning.  This one was up to about 200lbs before the stem split.

Offline AllenF

• Galactic Bee
Re: Giant Pumpkin Surgery
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2011, 12:50:46 pm »
Sounds like you are about to have pie early.   I know of no fix there.

Offline Scadsobees

• Galactic Bee
  • Best use of smileys in a post award.
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2011, 02:25:40 pm »
Would it hurt to duct-tape it back together?  I doubt it would grow back, but I can't see how it would hurt, other than accidentally snapping the other half too.  That's a big pumpkin!!

Sounds hokey, but I was able to save zucchini plants from vine borers by slicing the stems open.  Sometimes the unconventional can really do the trick.  You may ask what kind of nut tries to save zucchini plants, but I usually only plant 2. :-D
Rick

Offline AliciaH

• Field Bee
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2011, 10:09:30 am »
BlueBee:  It's only 6:00 a.m. here, I'll ask my husband, Brian, when he gets up.  Is this your only giant this year?  Or do I remember you telling me you had more?

Offline BlueBee

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2011, 01:02:45 pm »
This is my best pumpkin this year.  A storm damaged a couple of my other plants.  I generally only let one fruit grow per plant to get max size.  I have a couple other fruit, but they’re not as big.  

Will probably try what Dr Rick says, and give duct tape a try.  Allen, no pie for you!

Offline AliciaH

• Field Bee