Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hello from the sunny side of Alps-Slovenia  (Read 3886 times)

Offline Mici

• Super Bee
  • tougher than rock
    • http://www.carantha.net/carantha_table_of_contents.htm
Hello from the sunny side of Alps-Slovenia
« on: August 05, 2006, 06:34:32 am »
Hi!
this is my first year as a beekeeper and i must say it's pretty fun. although i never planned on having bees and it was my brothers "enthusiasm" when we bought them. somehow he's not into working with them so i took the role of a beekeeper. i started with 2 hives, in a week or so, the local beekeeper gave me a swarm which i helped him to catch (sat on a very high tree, 30 feet or so). and two weeks later a good beekeeper gave me 2 more swarms although he got to know me only from a forum.

i'm 18 years old and still a student. my name is Matic and i come from a small village. i'll post a picture so you can see how beautiful the valley in which i live is, actually it's a karst field. if anyone has ANYKIND of question, just ask.

Greetings!

NOTE: the water isn't there the whole year.

Offline eivindm

• Global Moderator
  • Field Bee
    • Eivind's page
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2006, 07:49:08 am »
Hello Mici, and welcome aboard! It is always fun to hear and learn more about beekeeping in other parts of the world.  Looking forward to hear from you again!

Offline TaoAndThen

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2006, 12:35:45 pm »
Welcome to the forum and to beekeeping. This is my first year, as well. I have one backyard hive - already planning the 2nd. I have found the members here to be very friendly, informative, supportive, and funny.

What are the caves like in your area? Are you a spelunker? We have some nice caves in the southern part of Indiana.

Amy
It is good to have an end to journey toward, but it is the journey that matters in the end." -Ursula K. LeGuin

Offline Mici

• Super Bee
  • tougher than rock
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2006, 01:04:19 pm »