Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: How are bees so time consuming?  (Read 1887 times)

Offline yanks26

• New Bee
How are bees so time consuming?
« on: April 09, 2009, 08:21:33 pm »
I am new to beekeeping and dont understand why this is so time consuming. You only have to collect the honey and harvest it once a year. What else is there really to do?

I am not trying to make fun of it at all, this is my way of asking what else is done in between.

Offline iddee

• Universal Bee
Re: How are bees so time consuming?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2009, 08:38:22 pm »
I know you aren't trying to make fun, and I'm not trying to be a smart---...

But it would take a 300 page book to answer your question. Let's just say that it's not the amount of time it takes, but when that time is needed. It seems that the bees always need attention at the most inopportune times. You will see as you get deeper into it.
"Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me . . . Anything can happen, child. Anything can be"

*Shel Silverstein*

Offline RayMarler

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2009, 09:01:15 pm »
I would say it would depend on how many hives you have and what you want out of them. I know a guy, he never does anything with them other than pull off a frame of honey now and then. He lets them bee. They swarm in spring, he retrieves the swarms and boxes them, and leaves them totally alone. Each winter he has some losses, each spring the survivors swarm and he boxes them. When he needs some honey he pulls off a few frames. He only has maybe 10 to 15 hives at the height of the season.