Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: 8 Frame Mediums  (Read 2532 times)

Offline MRBeek

• New Bee
8 Frame Mediums
« on: May 09, 2015, 11:13:21 am »
This is my first year beekeeping and I have been learning a lot since last fall when I decided I would give it a try this spring. I bought some used 10 frame equipment from a very reputable gentleman that lives near me and it was enough for 1 full hive, 2 deeps and 2 mediums. I wanted to start with 2 hives so I ordered 4- 8 frame mediums to use as my second hive. The frames are wooden with plastic foundation and all equipment came from Mann Lake which I was very happy with their service. My question is why when I put the frames into the hive bodies 9 frames are needed to fill it completely. If I only use 8 there is about 7/8 in. on both sides if I center the frames. If I put in 9 frames there is not much clearance and when the bees start putting wax on the frames it will be very tight.

Offline don2

• Doak
  • Field Bee
Re: 8 Frame Mediums
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2015, 11:39:42 pm »
If you are going to use mediums for brood, what I do if there is too much space with 8 frames I take a 3/8 or 1/2 in board cut the exact size of the side board. tack it too the inside on one side. 3 or 4 small nails that don't go through both pieces, or you could use screws. The bees do draw thicker comb for honey storage than they do for brood. You could leave as is, and take the little extra time to space them evenly all the way across. hope this helps.  d2

Offline OldMech

• Queen Bee
    • The Outyard
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2015, 11:20:40 am »
Measure your frames. The side bars that act as the spacers should be 1 3/8 wide. If they are, then your 8 frame box may be built too wide.  13.5 inches is the nominal size for an 8 frame box that will leave bee space on either side.
 Some companies build them slightly wider...  I dont know why... it is annoying and causes brace comb.

39 Hives and growing.  Havent found the end of the comfort zone yet.