Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: New and needing help!!!  (Read 2225 times)

Offline 40gunner

• Brood
New and needing help!!!
« on: April 09, 2014, 02:44:28 am »
I am new to beekeeping. So new I don't have any bees or a hive or anything. Any advice on how to get started will help out a great deal.
Thanks Everyone for your input.

Offline drlonzo

• House Bee
Re: New and needing help!!!
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2014, 03:05:43 am »
Welcome to the Forum 40gunner!  You've found a great bunch of people from all walks of the beekeeping world here.  Stretching anywhere you may think and taking in everyone from the beginner to the comercial beekeepers.

There's tons of information on here to read and absorb, but nothing helps as much as getting into your local beekeepers association.  Normally they are in most every or every other county.  That's always a great place to start as you can get hands on training in alot of cases from seasoned beekeepers with lots of knowledge.

From there, find some books, or even webpages like www.brushymountain.com to find lots of interesting facts about how to do everything. 

One thing is for sure, once you've been stung by the honey bee bug, it always keeps you wanting for more.

I hope you do well with your hives!

PS:  Plan to be stung by the bees, it happens, and you may as well face it.

Offline BlueBee

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2014, 03:41:25 am »
Check Craigslist if you’re on a budget and need free bees (swarm capture)

Visit a local beek if you want to pay money for bees; they are usually willing to part with a small box of bees (nucleus) for about $100.

Get a bee keeping book; either buy a modern one or download a free old one from google books.  Bee keeping hasn’t changed much in 100 years, so the old books are about as good as the new books IMO and they’re free.

Offline GSF

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2014, 06:50:28 am »
Welcome to the forum.