Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Pics of mite drop after Oxalic Acid Vapor treatment. One hive to die.  (Read 1574 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
I will presents 4 different pictures of bottom boards, each with the details.  All hives treated Nov. 2, with provap 110V and 1gram of acid per deep.  Fourth treatment of the year.

This picture is of the bottom board of a 2019 queen purchased for genetics diversity.  I doubt this hive will make it, to weakened by mites and will dwindle and die by March.  Diatomaceous earth on bottom board, wax capping, there is a moth for size comparison, LOOK AT ALL THE MITES.  Many more to fall in the next few days.

To many mites to count!

I am not proud of this pic, it horrifying but I must show the good with the bad in all honesty.
« Last Edit: November 03, 2019, 02:34:52 pm by van from Arkansas »
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Re: Pics of mite drop after Oxalic Acid Vapor treatment. One hive to die.
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2019, 01:27:04 pm »
Clean bottom board just before treatment.  Very few mites. 2018. queen, my original stock, Alpha daughter.

« Last Edit: November 03, 2019, 01:41:48 pm by van from Arkansas »
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2019, 01:28:36 pm »
Queen, Alpha, my breeder queen, 3.6 years of age.  Five dead hive beetles killed by diatom earth.  Look hard, few mites.

Van

• Super Bee