BEEKEEPING LEARNING CENTER > EQUIPMENT USAGE, EXPERIMENTATION, HIVE PLANS, CONSTRUCTION TIPS AND TOOLS

Migratory vs Telescopic lid

(1/4) > >>

Skeggley:
Hi guys, something I?ve been wondering about for a while is why here in Aus it?s the norm to use migratory lids and it seems in the US telescoping covers are the norm.
Telescoping covers generally need an inner cover, migratory lids don?t. Although hive mats are often used nowadays with M lids.
It?s easy to add insulation in a M lid as there is room inside it.
I hear of T lids blowing off, my hives are in a windy area with M lids and they have never blown off.
Ventilation holes are usually in M lids, not surprising as they are needed when transporting hives.
What is standard in other countries that use Langstroth hives?
What lids do migratory beekeepers in the US use?
Thanks.

Ben Framed:
Hello Skeggley from Down Under, Phillip from America. I could be considered a (newer beekeeper) as I have been keeping bees for 19 months. I mentioned this first as what I am about to tell you is sure to receive criticism from my older, more experienced fellow beekeepers. I use neither telescoping nor migratory lids. What I do, which is different for either of the two choices that was mentioned, I use Adventec lifetime warranted 3/4 4X8 sheets cut down to the exact size of my brood and super boxes and use the small cut down sheets for my lids. I do not have or use cleats, nor any type of reinforcement for the sides or ends, simply the cut down to fit sheets for a smooth, even fit used as my tops. I have had winds up to 60 MPH and have never lost a top. I have found that my bees ALWAYS propolize these sheets to the top box and I usually have to pry them off! I would not change for either of the previous mentioned. Now, if I were a commercial beekeeper, I would not chance the moving of this system without reinforcing the placement of said lids. What I would do and have done, is using a T40 stapler, simply pop a couple staples on ea