Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: water  (Read 4627 times)

Offline chickenwing654

• House Bee
water
« on: January 04, 2015, 08:23:54 pm »
Hi,

Newbie here.  Do you need to provide water during winter months?  If so, How do you do this during freezing temps?

Thanks
David

Offline djastram

• New Bee
    • My youtube videos
Re: water
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2015, 08:33:07 pm »
The bees should have plenty of water inside the hive, due to condensation.

It's usually a problem.

DJ

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2015, 09:56:46 pm »
What DJ said.
During the winter, bees depend upon the condensation on the walls for water.  They use water to dilute honey. If that water was coming from the ceiling that could kill the hive.
Jim
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline AllenF

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2015, 10:05:21 pm »
I do not worry about giving them water.   Summer or winter. 

Offline chickenwing654

• House Bee
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2015, 06:56:29 am »
Hi,

Thanks for the replies. 

How would you combat the winter condensation inside hive?  How about other seasons?  Would you take the the cover off for a short time?

Thanks again
David

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2015, 11:06:25 am »
> Do you need to provide water during winter months?

No.

>Would you take the the cover off for a short time?

The bees are constantly producing moisture.  You need a method that constantly lets it out.  Opening the hive will relieve moisture issues only until you put the cover back on, and will create problems with cold.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beestopentrance.htm
http://www.bushfarms.com/beeswinter.htm
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm