Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Secondhand Questions about Flow Hives  (Read 981 times)

Offline The15thMember

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Traveler of the Multiverse, Seeker of Knowledge
Secondhand Questions about Flow Hives
« on: February 17, 2024, 11:41:10 pm »
My family is a member of the School of Traditional Skills, and I've been helping answer bee questions on their private forum lately.  There are some questions about Flow Hives which I have no experience with, so I was wondering if anyone who has used them has any tips, tricks, or helpful information about using them that I could pass on to newbees who have purchased one (other than the obvious "you still have to inspect").   
I come from under the hill, and under the hills and over the hills my paths led.  And through the air, I am she that walks unseen.

Offline Acebird

• Galactic Bee
  • Just do it
Re: Secondhand Questions about Flow Hives
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2024, 08:38:41 am »
Michael Bush has a flow hive and successfully used it.  I think the jist is knock offs don't work so well.  He probably will chime in and lead you to the previous discussions.
Brian Cardinal
Just do it

Online BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2024, 08:46:56 am »
I have one. It?s very hard to get the bees to use it without them swarming. Every time I got the bees to the point where they started using it they would swarm. That was with 2 medium brood boxes under them. The last time that I used it they half filled it before swarming. It doesn?t help that our bees have a lot of Africanized genetics in them which makes them prone to swarming and also absconding.
If I was to try again, I would build the hive up to full capacity during a flow and then make them queen less and put it on or at least put a new queen in it.
Michael was able to make it work, he might bee able to provide some good advice.
Jim Altmiller