Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Just have to vent  (Read 2619 times)

Offline Twisted T

• New Bee
Just have to vent
« on: May 31, 2017, 12:44:17 pm »
I'm a newbie and picked up my first two nucs on May 19th from what was supposed to be a reputable breeder. I got the nucs home and left them overnight before I placed them in their new home. When I opened the first nuc, I was thoroughly disappointed. There was only one frame of brood, a frame of honey and pollen and a frame with nothing but foundation and an empty feeder frame. The other nuc was the same way. To me they were both a very week start. I did see both queens and they appeared to be in good shape. I have been feeding them a 1 to 1 syrup in boardman feeders, and after the first week inspection both hives appear to still be very weak. It doesn't appear that they are drawing new comb. Any idea when I should start seeing any improvement? Any help on trying to get them in better shape would be appreciated. Thanks

Offline texanbelchers

• House Bee
    • Mark Belcher
Re: Just have to vent
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2017, 01:05:58 pm »
You got 3 frames and a feeder and they called it a nuc?  I hope you didn't pay more than $100 for them.  That being said, it is a start.  That is basically what I use to get a queen mated.

One week isn't much time for any changes, but there should be some.  Did you see eggs, all stages of larva (small to large) and capped brood?  Since you identified a brood frame, I'm assuming you can tell the difference between capped brood and honey.

Are they in a wood nuc box or did you move them into a larger box?  Medium or deep? pictures?  There isn't much to go on from your post.  At any rate, they should have the smallest entrance possible and not too much space to protect.

I have never used one, but (because) Boardman feeders have a bad reputation.  I would consider using the jar and cap inside the hive or over the inner cover to minimize issues.  Are they taking any syrup?