Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: early beginner level - info required  (Read 9101 times)

Offline Algonam

• House Bee
early beginner level - info required
« on: January 13, 2011, 08:10:34 pm »
I am feeling pretty overwhelmed these days and can't seem to find the info I need. I am a beginner at this and am still trying to remember all of the terminology. The people I know who have hives are very far from me so I am not able to visit and ask questions very often....and then I don't remember everything!! Nor do they have top bar hives.
I am looking for a resource for the early beginner. I have so many stupid questions...
here are a few maybe some of you wouldn't mind answering:

Are the top bars just sitting freely on top of the main box (hive)? If so, are they jammed together so there are no gaps?
Every second bar is for what? and what is the other for?
Once I build a hive(the wood part only) and Spring is here, what will I need to buy to get 1 hive going? (Queen bee + ??)
If I build 4 hives will I have to buy 4 queen bees?
Once I have success at this, how will I extract the honey?
I am in Ottawa, Canada and it seems the local beekeeping clubs are in hibernation....

Oh Canada!

Offline hardwood

• Galactic Bee
  • Alysian Apiaries youtube.com/MrBeedude
Re: early beginner level - info required
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2011, 08:21:10 pm »
I'm not a top bar keeper but I know a bit...others will help too.

Top bars just rest freely and are movable.
Every bar is for comb and should be spaced as such (1-1/4"  1-1/2")
You will need more than just a queen (and the attendants that come with her). Most order packages for TBH
You will need 4 packages for 4 hives.
extraction is normally done using "crush and strain" although I've been toying with an extractable frame/.

Scott