Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Installing a Nuc (read first)  (Read 6500 times)

Offline asleitch

• House Bee
Installing a Nuc (read first)
« on: June 11, 2004, 04:54:30 pm »
I'm a new beekeeper this season, and have been given one hive by a friend, and I've been taking evening classes with my local club. The club apiary has about 6-10 hives, and we are divided up into about 4 groups, complete beginners, novice, intermediate and advanced. Each group has a teacher. The teacher for the complete beginners (where I am) is the regional bee-inspector, and really knows his stuff, and the latest official tecniques for control of varroa, EFB etc. At a recent apiary meeting, his partner mentioned she had some Nuc's for sale, at £35 thats about $65. "Who better?" thought I, to buy from, as they a going to be in A1 condition.

Anyway, I injured my back recently (ruptured disc), and I am unable to lift or do much at all. Very kindly, they agreed to bring the nuc down and install it for me, without me having to lift a finger. Given it's their day off, and they had to drive down to me (about 1 hour away) it was extremely kind.

They arrived mid-morning, and put on clean outfits, disposiable gloves, and scrubbed all their hive tools with water/washing soda. This is to ensure no disease is carried from one apiary to the next. (He inspects hundreds per week). Heavens knows what their laundary bill must be  :shock:

In this picture, you can see three hives, the closest it empty, just storing empty supers with foundation, the middle hive (in bits) is the one we are about to use, and the hive at the end is active. The "Nuc box" can be seen on the stand, with a yellow strap thats just been released.

click on image for larger view