Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Newbie beekeeper made a mistake and needs to fix it.  (Read 3663 times)

Offline aapuzzo

• Brood
Newbie beekeeper made a mistake and needs to fix it.
« on: October 16, 2017, 09:12:58 am »
Let me start out by saying this is my first year and there is so much to learn.  I believe I have a fairly strong hive but I need to fix a dumb mistake I made before going into winter.  As an FYI I was told to feed my bees and give them pollen patties the entire first year when I bought my equipment.  I think that is wrong and I changed mid summer after reading and doing my own research.  My equipment is the following.

5 medium box 10 plastic frame Langstroth hive with a screened bottom board
Queen excluder placed above the 3rd broad box with one I believe full honey super and a 3/4 drawn honey super where bees are starting to cap cells in center frames.
Innerview top cover so I can inspect bees all the time without suiting up or disturbing hive  <---- best purchase I made
Telescoping top cover
2 frame feeder

Now for the newbie mistake I made which I believe messes everything up.  I was feeding the bees sugar water with honey b healthy when the first honey super went on.  This was in July and I realized the mistake I made before filling their 2 frame feeder a second time however I already had a box of capped honey minus the 2 frames space the feeder took up.  I removed the feeder and placed 2 new plastic frames coated with wax in and added a the 2nd honey super on top.  Bees a few days later started drawing out comb but never finished.  At this point I assume I have a 4th full honey super with sugar syrup + honey b healthy and an unfinished honey super with some good honey.