Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Yellow Jackets are in my hive  (Read 2202 times)

Offline A37

• New Bee
Yellow Jackets are in my hive
« on: October 25, 2016, 05:33:34 pm »
I went in my hive today to put winter patties on and there are yellow jackets crawling throughout my hive. Last week I had honey bees robbing my hive for about 5 days even with the entrance reduced. The guard bees were fighting the other bees but the strange thing is the yellow jackets watching on the landing board were left alone. My hive is two deeps the top deep is still full of honey, I didn't go into the bottom. If you had yellow jackets in your hive before what was the outcome?

Thanks

- It's my first year beekeeping

Offline bwallace23350

• Super Bee
Re: Yellow Jackets are in my hive
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2016, 05:36:15 pm »
bump for information

Offline Beeboy01

• Field Bee
  • Oh Look A Honey Bee !!!
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2016, 07:39:47 pm »
They are looking for brood as well as honey. In the fall their usual prey, caterpillars and grubs are no longer available so they will raid bee hives for food. Use entrance reducers on your hive, the yellow jackets will die off after a hard freeze. 

Offline GSF

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2016, 08:03:55 am »
Robbing and yellow jackets? It can't be good. The fighting on your landing board may be robbers fighting one another. Use a flashlight or something and look inside on the bottom to see if there's a lot of dead bees. If so I'd go in not long before dark just to have a peek. Are we talking about one or two yj or 20 or 30?
When the law no longer protects you from the corrupt, but protects the corrupt from you - then you know your nation is doomed.

Offline jalentour

• Field Bee
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2016, 09:10:31 am »
A37,
Yellow jackets are on my hives by the hundreds right now.  I don't see them going inside because the entrances are well protected (no robbing).