Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Position of new hive-New Zealand based  (Read 1996 times)

Offline Maja

• New Bee
Position of new hive-New Zealand based
« on: September 09, 2011, 07:00:12 am »
Hi ,
I am a newbie to Beekeeping and just built my hives.First question I am  faced with is"where is the best place to put my two hives?"
My choosen place as far as sun and relative shelter (its a very exposed land with occasionally v.ghastly winds ) seem to be in my vegie garden in front of 1.7m green hedge.
Will bees appreciate people walking around in the garden? What is the safe distance I should leave around the hives ,so children walk around and bees feel safe to get on with their work?
Cheers
Maja

Offline Finski

• Galactic Bee
Re: Position of new hive-New Zealand based
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2011, 07:55:32 am »
I suppose that you have calm bees there.

10 metre sfe distance is enough for chilren in open space.
You may move some bushes to cut a viw to hives.
Language barrier NOT included

Offline FRAMEshift

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2011, 12:12:47 pm »
Yes 10 meters sounds like a minimum distance for calm bees.  Even then, if your bees get mad for some reason, they will find you.  It's nice to have a hive where you can see it often, so the garden may be a good place.  You don't want people to be directly in front of the entrance unless you are maybe 20 meters away.  I have a chair where I sit and watch my bees every day.  The chair is in a shady spot about 10 meters from the nearest hive and at an angle to the entrance..... not right in front of the entrance.

Try it there and see if you are happy.  If not, it's easy to move the hive.
"You never can tell with bees."  --  Winnie-the-Pooh

Online BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2011, 12:36:12 pm »