Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Greetings from new guy  (Read 5139 times)

Offline Jerrymac

• Galactic Bee
Greetings from new guy
« on: November 09, 2004, 10:45:44 am »
Howdy ya'll,

That's Texican for Hello.

I really wish I had done a few days ago what I did yesterday and this morning. But first a little about me.

As of April 5 this year I turned the half century mark in age. Still feel and mostly act like a seventeen year old. I just don't remember all the aches and pains at that age.

I was a trucker for several years. Before that I had many different jobs. Then after wife number two dumped me I met this wonderful nurse that would not allow me to be gone for months at a time. She yanked me out of the truck and have been stay at home dad since 1991.

I have had this hidden "want" to be a bee keeper since I was about eighteen. Aiways found the critters fasinating. And due to recent events I have decided to become one.

When I get done with my story you guys will probably get a rope and come looking for me. And it is why I wish I had gone searching the web several days ago.

About a month or two back I discovered a small swarm of bees in my dirt driveway, half overgrown with weeds. My wife was out mowing those down as I was about to fire up the tractor to mow the rest of our five acres. I went to help untangle the cord for her (electric mower) and almost stepped into the bees. Mowing stopped right then as the cord was into the swarm. I think they had gathered on a weed and it feel over from their wieght as they were on the ground. I called a beekeeper who said that probably noone was interested in gathering the swam because there were so many bees around here this year. She suggested I spray diesel or something on them. I chose to leave them alone because I like bees. I was just concerned they might be African. But they were not.

Next morning they were gone. But the story never ends..... Right?