Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: I have a question  (Read 1232 times)

Offline Donovan J

• House Bee
I have a question
« on: May 09, 2019, 09:55:13 pm »
Someone came over to my house and dropped off a top-bar bee hive. He built it himself and wanted to give it to me since i have bees. This is my first year and i'm not sure what to do. I thought about it and decided that once new bees start emerging in my langstroth hive and the population starts growing pretty quickly ill shake some bees into the top-bar hive and order a queen to go in with them. (Im assuming that its too late to get packages plus im already 400$ down the hole with my original hive.) Is this okay or is there another way?
3rd year of beekeeping and I still have lots to learn

Offline Dallasbeek

• Super Bee
Re: I have a question
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2019, 10:09:04 pm »
You will need something to hold them there -- brood and eggs on some comb attached to the top bar(s) will do it i willmyield thebfloor to somebody who has donenitnfor a more complete answer.  I will be interested in seeingnwhat they say.
"Liberty lives in the hearts of men and women; when it dies there, no constitution, no laws, no court can save it." - Judge Learned Hand, 1944

Offline Dallasbeek

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2019, 10:10:44 pm »
Sorry about the garbled words.  Hopefully you can tell what I wasbtrying to say.
"Liberty lives in the hearts of men and women; when it dies there, no constitution, no laws, no court can save it." - Judge Learned Hand, 1944

Offline Donovan J

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2019, 10:14:37 pm »
You will need something to hold them there -- brood and eggs on some comb attached to the top bar(s) will do it i willmyield thebfloor to somebody who has donenitnfor a more complete answer.  I will be interested in seeingnwhat they say.

I can tell what you were trying to say. Those pesky keys next to the space bar. 
3rd year of beekeeping and I still have lots to learn

Offline texanbelchers