Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Timing / positioning on Apivar strips  (Read 2181 times)

Offline JojoBeeBoy

• House Bee
    • @joebeewhisperer on Instagram
Timing / positioning on Apivar strips
« on: June 14, 2020, 12:14:20 pm »
I have no experience with Apivar vertical strips, so I call on the colony here. How far apart? Do nurse bees move from one frame to another? i.e. if there is a double brood box, how do I place them? how many?

About the only way I ever see mites is taking pics of nurse bees over open brood and blowing them up on my computer. I realize if we have bees, we have mites, but seeing one on a nurse of my strongest colony made me think it might be time to do something.

I have a plan to do OAV in the fall, but haven't purchased the stuff yet. I ordered the strips and other stuff from Dadant in early spring but their shipping was delayed due to all the stuff going on and by the time anything got here I had packages with capped brood.

I'm not pulling any honey this year, strickly building up. Thanks for your input and help!  :grin:

Offline beesnweeds

• House Bee
Re: Timing / positioning on Apivar strips
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2020, 01:28:08 pm »
   Its a good idea to do a mite count before treating.  That way you can determine if the treatment worked.  Here's a good method and instructions. https://pollinators.msu.edu/resources/beekeepers/varroa-mite-monitoring1/

Follow the instructions that come with the product carefully, they are pretty easy to follow.  2 strips per hive body positioned close to brood at least 2 frames apart. NO honey supers.  Leave on for a minimum of 42 days, max of 56 days.  First week of July is a good target date for treatment unless your mite count is high now. After the treatment do another mite count.

An excellent resource to help you keep mites in check and understand the products used to control them:  https://honeybeehealthcoalition.org/

Everyone loves a worker.... until its laying.

Offline TheHoneyPump