Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Drawing foundationless honey frames  (Read 16241 times)

Offline Culley

• House Bee
    • my beekeeping page on twitter
Drawing foundationless honey frames
« on: November 05, 2014, 08:15:00 pm »
Hi,

I have been using all foundationless frames for a few years now. It has been a steep learning curve. I started by taking over dad's hives when he couldn't lift the supers. Small Hive Beetles had just arrived in our area and decimated the hives. Around the same time I did a cutout from a swarm that had landed in our equipment stack, rubber banded the comb into frames and started foundationless from there. I made a lot of mistakes as I was learning.

I'm interested in what people who are using foundationless do in the honey boxes (no queen excluder). How do you position the frames so that the foundationless frames get drawn nicely? I have been adding foundationless frames and empty frames into the brood area as the hive can take it, and moving frames up. This means quite a few visits just to get the frames in one super sorted out. I have tried checkerboarding the honey frames but the bees draw the honey frames wider and left the empty foundationless ones alone  :shock: Should I put the honey frames all together on one side and the empty foundationless frames together on the other side? Or should I put a whole box of foundationless on for a super, so they draw it all down and not sideways? Am I missing something?  :)

Culley

Offline OldMech

• Queen Bee
    • The Outyard
Re: Drawing foundationless honey frames
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2014, 08:53:05 pm »

Your not missing anything Culley. If you put ALL foundation in your super, the bees will STILL draw some frames wider.