Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Greetings from Northeast Florida  (Read 2433 times)

Offline guitarstitch

• House Bee
Greetings from Northeast Florida
« on: March 24, 2020, 09:03:19 am »
Hello all,

I'm Matthew Pence, or Stitch (from the Disney movie).  I was recently directed to this forum by our local beekeeper association with respect to Mr. Altmiller's BeeFest (which I attended this weekend).

I am a relatively new beekeeper, entering my 3rd year.  I run all 10 frame Langstroth hives.  Presently I'm using a mix of deep and medium boxes, but as I cycle out equipment, I'm converting to all mediums for the health of my back and the convenience of not having to inventory multiple types of frames, boxes, etc.

Outside of beekeeping, I am a computer programmer/IT Swiss Army Knife ('if it has buttons or wires, it's Matt's problem') so that I can afford to keep bees.  I am also a musician playing the club circuit in Duval and Clay counties.

I have been lurking here for a few days getting a feel for the overall atmosphere in the forums before piping up.  (Queen pun not intended).  I must say, I am impressed with the respect demonstrated here between members.  Having recently stepped away from Facebook, I find this to be somewhat of a culture shock!

I'd like to thank the moderation and administration team for providing a well managed forum for beekeepers (commercial and hobbyists) to get together and discuss ideas like professionals. 
-Matthew Pence/Stitch

Offline Acebird

• Galactic Bee
  • Just do it
Re: Greetings from Northeast Florida
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2020, 09:31:07 am »
Glad to have you stitch.  I am going to talk to Jim about bringing a generator (I almost did) so you and Mike can plug in and maybe drown out the dogs yelping next year.  Great meeting you at beefest this year.
Brian Cardinal
Just do it

Offline cao

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2020, 10:52:25 am »
Welcome  :happy:

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee