Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Newbie has first hive and questions  (Read 2310 times)

Offline Steampunked

• New Bee
Newbie has first hive and questions
« on: December 04, 2015, 02:28:46 am »
Hello, folks.

I am a complete newbie so any advice is good.  Because I could build them pretty much for free, I made a Warre hive last winter.  I am in Australia, and very used to making my own things.

After a very slow, cold, wet start to the warm season, the person I was buying a swarm from came through on Tuesday.  The weather was warm, but not hot.

He installed the swarm after checking them in the nuc - they were docile and very eager to climb into the hive.  The guy said he had never seen a Warre before.  They had been in a possum box (sans horrified possum who apparently left at speed) one night and already drawn quite a quantity of brand new comb.

I had no top bars for one box(I'm making more tonight) and told him we should just put the roof back on with one super full of frames, but he said a Warre hive needed the empty box below. 

I wasn't in the mood to argue then, as he has decades of experience on me, but when I crack the hive this lovely warm weekend to check there are eggs...er.  Shouldn't I install bars in the bottom box?  Or remove the empty box?

What's best for them?

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Kept by a tiny miniature suburban farm by chickens, parrots, a wallaby, a 3.5 year old and my partner.

Offline dunderi

• New Bee
    • Glencoe on Branxholm
Re: Newbie has first hive and questions
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2015, 03:16:02 am »
If he's never seen a warre it's a whole different ball game - in a langstroth the bees move upward,  so if that's all he knows about then the bees moving "downward" will be a foreign concept.