Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: How many different kinds of beehive types are there?  (Read 3948 times)

Offline Beehive Builder

• New Bee
    • beehivebuilder.com
How many different kinds of beehive types are there?
« on: July 30, 2015, 10:44:28 pm »
HI, I'm pretty new at this and would like to know how many different types of beehives there are out there?
Safe Beekeeping!

Offline Maggiesdad

• House Bee
Re: How many different kinds of beehive types are there?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2015, 11:08:40 pm »
Many... as in lots.  :wink:

Pretty much as long as it has removable (replaceable) combs, hanging from bars or in frames, then any old cavity will do!

Offline Eric Bosworth

• Field Bee
  • I love New York... I hate the government.
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2015, 08:51:55 am »
What Maggiesdad said. If you have multiple hives (I recommend multiple hives) I recommend them being the same. Then you can easily share resources if needed. For example if a hive is queenless you can easily add a frame of open brood and eggs so they can make a new Queen.
All political power comes from the barrel of a gun. The communist party must command all the guns; that way, no guns can ever be used to command the party. ---Mao Tse Tung

Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote. ---Benjamin Franklin

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2015, 01:00:52 pm »
x2.
Jim
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2015, 12:07:25 pm »
>How many different kinds of beehive types are there?

My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------