Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Couple Questions About a Split  (Read 4853 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Re: Couple Questions About a Split
« Reply #20 on: April 05, 2020, 10:19:14 am »
If the purpose of the split is just for more hives, either is fine.

If the purpose is to prevent swarming, ALWAYS remove the queen, whether after the cells are made, as she has now, or before they are made, as she had before.

A split without the queen does nothing to prevent a swarm. Removing the queen with a split tells the original hive that they have swarmed, and don't need to now.

Yes, agreed.  Thank you ID.

Van
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline The15thMember

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Traveler of the Multiverse, Seeker of Knowledge
« Reply #21 on: April 05, 2020, 01:25:24 pm »
Thanks so much everyone.  All of this makes good sense.  I have another hive that needs splitting as well, so I guess tomorrow will be "split day".  :grin:   
I come from under the hill, and under the hills and over the hills my paths led.  And through the air, I am she that walks unseen.

Online Ben Framed

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
  • Mississippi Zone 7
« Reply #22 on: April 05, 2020, 08:09:53 pm »
Thanks so much everyone.  All of this makes good sense.  I have another hive that needs splitting as well, so I guess tomorrow will be "split day".  :grin:   

WOW! Sourwood honey for sure! lol.  :wink:
2 Chronicles 7:14
14 If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

Offline cao

• Super Bee