Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Does this sound right?  (Read 1203 times)

Offline oblib

• House Bee
Does this sound right?
« on: May 21, 2012, 09:58:44 am »
 I'm now six weeks in with 10 new packages. I am using only 8-frame medium equipment with the frames cut to 1 1/4" so 9 to a box.  I also have a cutout from a tree and a small swarm. The cutout is by far the strongest hive but as I didn't get the queen they had to make another and she has just started to lay. Four of the ten packages are still in only the first box. The other 6 either got a second box this week or last.  As this is my first year I have no unused drawn comb. All but the cutout (which has 1/2 a box of capped honey in it from the cutout) are being fed.

Next week (7 weeks from install) I am planning on starting my inspections in what I think are the strongest hives. Any that have 7 or more frames of brood I plan to pull one frame of capped brood and attached nurse bees and replace with an empty frame. I will place these frames in a nuc box and continue with the yard inspection. When I find any with less than 6 frames of brood I will give one of these frames and pull an empty. If less than 4 then I will give 2 of these pulled frames. I plan to inspect the swarm last as it is the weakest and give them any remaining frames I have.

Does this sound like a decent plan or is it too soon to be makng these swaps?

Offline indypartridge

• Queen Bee
Re: Does this sound right?
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2012, 12:31:12 pm »