Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: About to make mistakes : Capturing bees  (Read 6074 times)

Offline animal

• Queen Bee
About to make mistakes : Capturing bees
« on: May 01, 2023, 01:39:04 am »
Ok, I am not a beekeeper. I'm a carpenter with a sweet wife that doesn't want some nuisance bees to die.
So..
Bees apparently swarmed and I found a queen, some drones and a pile of bees (altogether a dustpan full) that had wandered into the cabin and died after not being able to find their way out.
A very active bee colony is located in the soffit next to the chimney and owner wants them gone. I've been doing other work to the place over the last week and it's time to deal with the bees. In the mean time, I've been throwing together "bee stuff" nights and over the weekend. Being cheap and expecting failure, my equipment is home-made or "repurposed".. yep, I'm a redneck, I guess.

Stuff I have :
- old cowboy hat with veil/cowl made of window screen(vinyl coated fiberglass)
- pair of TIG gloves
- small vented containers
- smoker ( cotton for fuel?)
- plunger type queen marking cylinder
- assorted knives, prybars, etc.
- Bee collection box (appx. 2' x 2' x 3' double - chambered, 2" hose inlet to bee side, 2" outlet to commercial shop-vac side, chambers separated 
by window screen material, Baffle on suction side to distribute airflow across screen, suction regulated by adjustable vent.
- Langstroth style 10 frame hive : 9.5" height body for brood, 5.75" height body for upper, telescoping lid, bottom board section with "porch" area and 7/8" high opening. Lid made of BC plywood, ponderosa pine frame, vinyl coated aluminum roofing. Base made of BC ply. & ponderosa pine. Shallow super "box" of southern yellow pine. All other parts of ponderosa pine. All interior surfaces coated with beeswax (baked in with heat lamps plus top coated with brush). Exterior coated with paraffin. Treated wood stand. Frames drilled and partially wired.