Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Queen Cages in Nuc  (Read 1595 times)

Offline gunswayne

• New Bee
Queen Cages in Nuc
« on: May 07, 2018, 12:07:30 pm »
Howdy from southeast Texas. A little background,  I?m not a complete noob but it has been roughly 30 years since I worked bees with my dad as a teen.
 Fast forward to yesterday. I (with dad?s help) installed 2 four frame nucs into their new homes.  Everything seemed to go great and the bees are settled in and doing fine as far as I can tell.  I was not expecting the queens to be in cages. Just wasn?t something that crossed my mind when preparing for the nucs arrival.  My question is, when should I check up on them to make sure they get out? I wasn?t planning on going into the hives for at least a couple of weeks to let them get settled in.
Also, I wanted to thank each of you that contribute to this forum.     Your collective knowledge has helped a lot as I have prepared for this venture.

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Queen Cages in Nuc
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2018, 02:41:29 pm »
Welcome to Beemaster.
Sorry to see that you lost one side of that great looking rack.  :cheesy:
Go into a the nucs and look at the bees on the queen cages. If you can easily move the bees with a finger or a feather, I would open the cage and let into the hive. If they are biting the cage they are not ready.
By the way, you did not get a true Nuc. A Nuc should have 4 or 5 frames of bees with a queen that has proven herself by filling the Nuc with eggs and larvae. You basically got a package with some bees on frames and a queen.
Jim
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline cao

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2018, 04:34:23 pm »
Welcome.  :happy:

Offline eltalia

• Queen Bee
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2018, 06:18:06 pm »
Welcome to Beemaster.
Sorry to see that you lost one side of that great looking rack.  :cheesy: