Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: New kind of ant, what is it???  (Read 2435 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
New kind of ant, what is it???
« on: June 08, 2019, 05:47:37 pm »
These ants just appeared this year.  Extremely fast, never still, nervous little critters.  Can any person identify?  Is this ant a serious, minor or no threat to bees.
Van

« Last Edit: June 08, 2019, 06:09:11 pm by van from Arkansas »
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Re: New kind of ant, what is it???
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2019, 05:48:32 pm »
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline Nock

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2019, 07:03:31 pm »
Not sure what kind but look like ones we have here.

Offline beesnweeds

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2019, 10:17:37 am »
I could be totally wrong, but from your description and photo it looks like Rasberry Crazy Ants.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2019, 10:27:54 am by beesnweeds »
Everyone loves a worker.... until its laying.

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2019, 01:22:09 pm »
When I looked at I thought it was the size of a carpenter ant. If so then it is not a Rasberry Crazy Ant. They are about the size of a fire ant.
How big are these ants?
Jim Altmiller
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2019, 02:27:10 pm »