Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hi All  (Read 2416 times)

Offline jeepaddict4life

• New Bee
Hi All
« on: August 29, 2008, 02:33:18 pm »
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here (or should that be new bee  :) ) A little about myself: I'm 24, born and raised here in Rochester NY and surrounding suburbs, a recent graduate of RIT (Electrical Engineering Technology), and I am seriously interested in honeybees and everything having to do with beekeeping. As such, I have decided to start on my own next spring with 2 hives. I have some previous experience from a couple of years ago. My friend's Grandparents were hobby beekeepers, and guided me in caring for one of their hives for a season. Unfortunately, they sold all their hives and supplies due to deteriorating health (both are in their late 80's) and I didn't have the time last year to pursue the hobby due to College. Now that I do have the time, I can't wait to get back into it.

I have already learned a huge bundle of information by reading this forum, so I thank you all for that in advance. Hopefully soon I'll be able to add to it with some of my own knowledge.

I hope everyone has a good Labor Day weekend!

-Mike

Offline mtman1849

• Assistant Social Director
  • House Bee
Re: Hi All
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2008, 03:26:53 pm »
Welcome to the forum,  Sounds like you have a fair knowlege base to start with if you spent a season caring for a hive.   Read and learn all you can this winter and you will be ready for the spring.  Look forward to hearing form you

Offline EasternShore

• House Bee
  • Tending 50K angry insects is just .........crazy!
    • OMG Apiary
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2008, 06:59:20 pm »
A BIG HOWDY from Maryland!!!

Enjoy all the interesting stuff here...find someone close to you and get ready for a new life...cause yours will change once you start keeping Bee's!

Anything worth doing is worth doing well.
We are the keepers, it is our duty to preserve life.

Offline 1reb

• Super Bee