Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Smoker alternatives ??????/  (Read 6514 times)

Offline dsj21

• New Bee
Smoker alternatives ??????/
« on: June 25, 2004, 01:20:40 pm »
The thread the other day on smoking/not smoking the hive got me to thinking. Tommorow's inspection will be the 9th, and like some of you my bees(Italian) don't seem to be calmed by the smoke,. They not angry either, more annoyed than calm. This is my first year so I have no point of reference, just watching several videos. But I really try to just lightly smoke them, not choke them into submission.
  Two options to smoking I've been reading about are:
  #1 -  spraying them with sugar water with "Honey B Healthy" essential oils added to it. The Honey B Healthy claims to have a calming effect on the bees. Here's a blurb from the ad that came with the product "In addition using 4 teaspoons in a quart of 1-1 sugar water of Honey B Healthy as a spray instead of smoke helps calm the bees."
  #2 - Liquid Bee Smoke - http://www.bee-commerce.com/search_results.asp?txtsearchParamTxt=liquid+smoke&txtsearchParamCat=ALL&txtsearchParamType=ALL&iLevel=1&txtsearchParamMan=ALL&txtsearchParamVen=ALL&txtFromSearch=fromSearch  

Do any of you have experience with these types of products? I would like to try them. I'd really appreciate any advice on these options. My bees are so gentle, I want to treat them in a way that will cause them the least amount of discomfort when I invade their home. Thanks.
Truly great people will make you believe you can be great also.       Mark Twain

Offline Ross

• Field Bee
    • http://www.myoldtools.com
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2004, 05:59:08 pm »
Try using just a little smoke.  I have started giving just a puff or two at the entrance and waiting several minutes, then one puff across the frames if I need to when I raise the lid.  After that, I try to use sugar water or HBH.  It seems to work fine and with less disruption than smoking them heavily.
www.myoldtools.com