Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: What would you do?  (Read 3612 times)

Offline Fishing-Nut

• House Bee
What would you do?
« on: July 02, 2017, 05:37:28 pm »
I did a cut out over the past 2 days on a huge colony/hive inside a house that was built in 1835. I do construction for a living so it was pretty interesting to me while de constructing some of this old house. I couldn't help but think of and try to imagine the carpenter from back then that drove in those old hand made cut nails. I saved some of them and so did the people who just purchased the home. Anyway the hive was huge. I saved some brood comb with eggs and larvae with lots of bees. I am pretty sure I didn't get the Queen. It's hard to explain but the way this hive was situated I was only able to get about half of it out without making a mess of it. The other half I had to reach way up into the wall/ceiling and pretty much tear it out. It made a huge honey mess, and unfortunately lots of bees died during the process. The bees never acted like I got the queen, and the weather is bad so I really can't go into them right now. My question is this. Would you let these bees re Queen themselves, or would you give them a queen. I want to let them re Queen themselves because while going through this hive over the past 2 days I never saw one single hive beetle, and the bees we're really thriving, this hive was over 3 feet wide and every bit of 8 feet tall. We were very impressed with what those bees had been doing. And it was real obvious that they had been there for years. We have a pretty serious hive beetle problem here in Georgia, and I was amazed that I didn't see a single one. I'm new to bee keeping and could be wrong, but I'm thinking that the fact that they keep those beetles in check like that may be a genetic thing. And if it is I sure would like to hang on to that.
Take a kid fishing !

Offline Hops Brewster

• Field Bee
Re: What would you do?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2017, 06:30:05 pm »