Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: What are these?? Small bees of some sort??  (Read 1224 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
What are these?? Small bees of some sort??
« on: March 24, 2019, 04:09:05 pm »
Walking about my apiary I see these bees smaller than my honey bees hovering about 2 inches above the ground.  There are hundreds in a confined area of say 20 ft by 20 ft.

I noticed a ground mating and realized I stumbled on the equivalent to a drone congregation area for these critters.  I took pics of the mating hoping someone will know what these critters are.  Shaped like bees but smaller with striped abdomen just like honey bees.

The bees are centered and grounded, there 4 bees in each pic.  Any ideas??
Blessings
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline MikeyN.C.

• Field Bee
Re: What are these?? Small bees of some sort??
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2019, 04:19:57 pm »
Had some here last yr. couldn't get a pic , cause they were so fast. Only lasted for about 4-5 days and were gone. Don't know?

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2019, 04:26:03 pm »

For some reason probably my fault, looks like the first three pics are the same, although I have 3 different pics, so I added another pic.  They are ground nesters having a hole about 3/8 inch.  All this, 100?s of critters, 5 feet from a honey bee hive.  My honey bees are not bothered by these critters.
Blessings
« Last Edit: March 24, 2019, 04:49:58 pm by van from Arkansas »