Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: legthargic bees  (Read 1314 times)

Offline paus

• Field Bee
legthargic bees
« on: March 27, 2020, 11:59:42 am »
I opened a three deep hive I left over winter, thinking I would harvest any honey in the spring.  Well, I watched the hive this AM no traffic, knocked on hive box no sound, I opened them up.  I hit enter instead of shift.  there were lots of bees but they were all very lethargic, the other hives near this one are working.  My first thought is no queen, but they were not aggressive at all.  ???????????

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Re: legthargic bees
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2020, 12:05:27 pm »
Any brood, we were 92f yesterday and you, Paus, are way south of me.  Is your area warm enough for inspections?
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline guitarstitch

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2020, 12:49:33 pm »
Three things to investigate every time you open a hive: Mood, Food, and Brood.

-Mood: are they calm or particularly pissy?  Are they calmly moving around working frames, or hurriedly scurrying about?  How about the sound of the hive?  Calm hum?  Roar?  Angry buzz?

-Food: How are their stores?  If no stores exist, it might not be a bad idea to feed.

-Brood: Do you see brood in all stages?  Are the cell caps full, pinholed, or sunken?  How is the laying pattern?
-Matthew Pence/Stitch

Offline sc-bee

• Super Bee
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2020, 11:25:32 am »
Sick hives are often lethargic. Not saying they are sick but sick bees can become ...well depressed.
John 3:16

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2020, 12:38:30 pm »
lethargic bees are either cold, starving or sick.