Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: should i expect to harvest honey?  (Read 2258 times)

Offline palomanegra

• New Bee
should i expect to harvest honey?
« on: July 18, 2008, 02:24:09 pm »
It is my first season keeping a colony of Russian bees and they seem to be doing very well so far. But should I expect to harvest any honey? I need to leave enough for overwintering (I live in Pennsylvania) and am not sure when I should put the super on-- I was thinking middle of August?

Offline _Brenda_

• House Bee
Re: should i expect to harvest honey?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2008, 02:36:07 pm »
This is my first year too. I started in late April with a package, and added supers as they filled the ones they were in. I'm running all mediums, and now have 3 full supers(bottom and 2nd have honey and brood, 3rd has honey), and one that they are drawing out. I did steal 2 frames, crushed and strained, and put the frame back in the top most super for them to clean and draw out.

Have you added any supers at all? August seems late to me, but you are farther north than I am.
Brenda

Offline Steve M.

• House Bee
    • Maine Homesteading
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2008, 08:31:56 pm »
I'm in my first year as well, and I only started with one hive. I went with a nuc of Carniolans, and they have really done well for the most part.  I think I must have lost some of them to a swarm that I didn't recognize was imminent.  I really should have put in the 2nd deep before I did.  They now have two deeps fully drawn out, and I put on a medium super a few days ago, and I am planning on checking on them tomorrow....if it stops raining!

What is your set-up?  Are you using deeps, or all mediums?  10 frame or 8 frame?  I would think that you would be ready for a super, or getting pretty close.

I am not expecting to harvest any honey this year, but I am going to try to give them the best shot at producing all they can, and maybe, just maybe I will be able to get a bit to harvest.

I wish you the best!

--Steve