Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: 1wk checkup -> Awesome!  (Read 2278 times)

Offline fr0sty

• New Bee
    • Rutgers Crew
1wk checkup -> Awesome!
« on: June 07, 2009, 03:20:01 pm »
So I'm just starting out and I installed a package of bees last week on totally brand new equipment and foundation.

Today, I did the first checkup and opened up the hive and was pretty happy with what I saw.
I saw about 5-6 frames drawn out, eggs, and the queen! Seeing the queen was a total relief, because I had been thinking the entire week how screwed I would've been if the queen was dead or gone.

I switched the entrance reducer from the smallest to the next biggest and also refilled the feeder with medicated syrup.

When should the next checkup be? in another week? 2? Anything else I should do?

Oh yeah, I was thinking about feeding them grease patties as well, it's a 2:1 of sugar to crisco right? and what are K-wings?
« Last Edit: June 07, 2009, 03:45:34 pm by fr0sty »

Offline Brian D. Bray

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Galactic Bee
  • I really look like this, just ask Cindi.
    • http://spaces.msn.com/thecoonsden
Re: 1wk checkup -> Awesome!
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2009, 10:47:26 pm »
So I'm just starting out and I installed a package of bees last week on totally brand new equipment and foundation.

Today, I did the first checkup and opened up the hive and was pretty happy with what I saw.
I saw about 5-6 frames drawn out, eggs, and the queen! Seeing the queen was a total relief, because I had been thinking the entire week how screwed I would've been if the queen was dead or gone.

I switched the entrance reducer from the smallest to the next biggest and also refilled the feeder with medicated syrup.

Sounds like they are building up well, congratulations.

When should the next checkup be? in another week? 2? Anything else I should do?