Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Dipping boxes in Wax...why are people doing this?  (Read 3179 times)

Offline BAHBEEs

• House Bee
Dipping boxes in Wax...why are people doing this?
« on: July 29, 2019, 05:15:07 pm »
I have always been warned about even leaving frames out overnight as it can draw wax moths. 

Why are folks doing it then?

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Re: Dipping boxes in Wax...why are people doing this?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2019, 06:17:18 pm »
I have been told the same about waxed frames.  I don?t think very many beeks dip their hive bodies in wax, however the wax would attract bees, especially swarm traps.
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline Oldbeavo

• Queen Bee
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2019, 07:15:28 pm »
All of the professional box makers wax dip to preserve the wood. As bees wax is expensive they use paraffin and microcrystalline wax.
Wax dipping will more than double the life of a box.

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2019, 07:25:17 pm »
Mr. Beavo, most hives I see in the US are painted.  How does wax compare to paint?  I prime the outside of the hive body with primer then paint with acrylic that is mildew resistant.  In this part of the US, Arkansas, the humidity is very high so protection of wood is a must: Australian oil for home decks, paint for bee hives.
Cheers
Van
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline Ben Framed

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
  • Mississippi Zone 7