Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Different colored bees in 1 colony  (Read 2852 times)

Offline jester7891

• House Bee
Different colored bees in 1 colony
« on: May 07, 2009, 02:54:15 pm »
I have one overwintered colony from last year that did quite well.  The bees are Italian and light brown.  I bought a nuc approximately two weeks ago and put it approximately 5 feet from the first hive.  I was concerned about robbing (even though the nuc frames looked pretty good and the bees looked strong) so I put an entrance reducer in place.  I carefully watched for signs of robbing (obviously since this is only the beginning of my second year, I am not an expert) but did not see any signs.  Bees seem to come and go into the new hive without fighting etc. When I opened the hive, the bees are very receptive and not aggressive.  Things seem to be moving along properly with eggs, lava etc. This is my question.  When I look closely at the bees coming and going into the new hive, I see light-colored brown and darker colored brown bees. They seem to act as if they are all part of the same colony.  Is this possible?

Thanks,

Jester

Offline hankdog1

• Field Bee
Re: Different colored bees in 1 colony
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2009, 03:57:51 pm »
Yeah not all the uncommon having the 2 hives that close together as the bees come back you'll have drifting and such and the guards will let them pass if thier carrying pollen or nector.  Think about it when is the last time you shut the door in the face of a neighbor that was bringing you a welcome to the neighborhood gift.  Bees are the same way they hardly ever turn down free food.
Take me to the land of milk and honey!!!

Offline Eshu

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2009, 04:33:03 pm »
It can happen easily since the queen mates with multiple drones.  So, most of the workers are half-sisters to each other.

Offline Natalie

• Queen Bee
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2009, 04:55:06 pm »