Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Seeking Comments: Alternating Permacomb w/traditional frames for a weak hive?  (Read 2022 times)

Offline bakoplan

• Brood
I'm a second year newbie, meaning I think I'm at the point where I'm a conscious incompetent--still much to learn.

About two months ago I rescued a hive that was in the backyard of a friend (this hive had found a capped hole where the irrigation system controls were and thought it a nice home).  They are now back at my place, in a single Langstroth super (deep). About five frames of their comb were rubber banded into empty frames and came with, I put in two frames of brood/honey from other hive, requeened (first one didn't make it) and the balance of the nine frames are Mann Lake "rite cell" plastic frames.  The bees have done a reasonable job building out one of the two remaining frames. If you're doing the math, that adds up to nine total frames.  The tenth slot is an internal one gallon feeder which always has 1:1 syrup available, and they are taking about a half gallon a week.

The hive is looking a bit better over time, but I would still consider it quite weak, so I've ordered a ten pack of Permacomb which I'll place as a medium super above the original deep.  My thought is the Permacomb will relieve them of the effort to draw comb and they can more quickly move to raising more brood and building up the hive.

Ok, so with that background, I was just thinking ahead in anticipation of receiving the PermaComb tomorrow and would like comments from the pros: