Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: The only place I have to put hives are in the shade  (Read 1337 times)

Offline Charles Wright

• House Bee
The only place I have to put hives are in the shade
« on: July 18, 2020, 03:17:21 pm »
Hello everyone. I'm new to beekeeping
 I actually don't even own bees yet. Will buy my first nucs in the spring.
I have one problem and it may be a big one.
My uncle and my brother and I share a house. My brother doesn't want the hives in the front yard. The problem is that the back yard only gets small spots of sun throughout the day. Is this doable? I've read that it's best if they get morning sun, but this is just wooded area. Winters are mild. I'm in Georgia. Is it necessary to have lots of sun or just preferred? And what will be the consequences?
Thanks.

Offline The15thMember

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Traveler of the Multiverse, Seeker of Knowledge
Re: The only place I have to put hives are in the shade
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2020, 03:21:52 pm »
Welcome.  :smile:  I have my hives in the shade and I don't have any problems.  I actually really like having my hives in the shade, as it's much more comfortable working them in hot weather.  You may have more trouble with small hive beetles in the shade, but I haven't found it to be enough of a difference to warrant moving to the sun. 
I come from under the hill, and under the hills and over the hills my paths led.  And through the air, I am she that walks unseen.

Offline FloridaGardener

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2020, 03:35:49 pm »
Ditto.   

Just be sure to use the SHB traps available: the Swiffer or Dixie H700 cloth inside the hive; the West beetle trap underneath.

I find the Beetle blaster not worth it - it warps and spills.  The cloth is much better at trapping and the bees "understand" it, and use it.