Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Preparing for Winter - I'm New at this - 2 Deeps  (Read 1766 times)

Offline GeorgiaBeeKeeper

• New Bee
Preparing for Winter - I'm New at this - 2 Deeps
« on: September 06, 2020, 12:14:32 am »
Hi!  I have 2 colonies that are in 2 Deeps each.

I did a top only inspection today and both hives had the top deep filled to the brim with capped honey - end to end.

In a week I'll be examining all the frames in the bottom deep bodies of both colonies (to makes sure they aren't honey bound and to check on the brood nest).

My question is this - since I have double deeps and the top of each deep is full of honey - does that mean that I don't have to worry so much about supplemental feeding until early March?   

I'm thinking that if they have a full deep of honey that they are in good shape as long as I keep the supplemental feeding up until it gets cold.
I was still going to put a thing of sugar up top just in case (once it got cold).

This is my first winter so I'm not sure - and I want to make sure my colonies survive.
I already did the beginning of August mite treatments and nosema treatments - and I think I'm supposed to treat again in October....

So much to learn - any help is appreciated!

Thank you!

Offline The15thMember

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Traveler of the Multiverse, Seeker of Knowledge
Re: Preparing for Winter - I'm New at this - 2 Deeps
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2020, 12:45:22 pm »
I'm a little north of you in the mountains and I'm entering my third winter.  I usually winter in 2 mediums, and I've never had any problems with healthy colonies surviving.  I do occasionally feed in early spring if the hives feel light, but in most cases it's been unnecessary.  I think double deeps packed with food should be more than sufficient.     

I already did the beginning of August mite treatments and nosema treatments - and I think I'm supposed to treat again in October....