Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Raised Bed Gardening  (Read 5296 times)

Offline GSF

• Galactic Bee
Raised Bed Gardening
« on: May 12, 2014, 10:23:06 pm »
Okay, I still have my "traditional" row garden but I'm experimenting as well. I have about 10 raised beds made from (one deep) RR cross ties. I planted strawberries, purple hull peas, bush beans, sunflowers & sun hemp just to see how it will do. Should I make the beds 2 RR cross ties deep? Don't freak out over the carcinogenic concerns. These cross ties are well worn.

I've had a couple of friends tell me you get a heck of a lot more  produce with less land. We'll see. Any comments or suggestions are welcomed. Like I said, this is my first time doing it.
When the law no longer protects you from the corrupt, but protects the corrupt from you - then you know your nation is doomed.

Offline BlueBee

• Galactic Bee
Re: Raised Bed Gardening
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2014, 11:16:42 pm »
Don't freak out over the carcinogenic concerns. These cross ties are well worn.
There was a fellow beek in another thread worried about a few molecules of styrene outgassing from my foam hives and now we hear you're using railroad ties for growing vegetables  :-D

I have done some experimenting with raised vs flat beds.  I think the benefits of a raised bed depends a lot on your soil makeup, how much rain you get, and how hot it is.  My raised beds in Memphis tended to dry out and get cooked as the temps went up and rainfall went down.  That required more watering which was a pain.  If you’re growing root crops, the raised beds really seem to help them thrive if you’ve got clay soil. 

The other thing that drives me crazy with raised beds is moles.  They always find them and love them.  They turn raised beds in Swiss cheese.

Offline beesNme

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2014, 10:25:41 am »
raised beds have a few advantages, you can pack alot in them. i would go 2 high for more depth, also it would be alot better  on your back